Not My Mom’s Spaghetti Sauce

Here you go, this is not my mom’s spaghetti sauce. I have never mastered her recipe I guess it is her secret ingredient “love” that I have never quite been able to bottle up and add. So instead I decided to come up with my own recipe. It turned out pretty good, but don’t take my word for it, Mike forwent his planned pizza for spaghetti.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cloves garlic
  • ½ chopped purple onion
  • 3 tbls Italian seasoning
  • 3tbls basil
  • 2lbs ground beef
  • 1lb Italian sausage
  • 3 28oz cans crushed tomatoes
  • 3 6oz cans tomato paste
  • 3 12oz cans tomato sauce
  • ½ cup parmesan cheese
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

 

Step 1: Sauté garlic, onion, Italian and basil seasoning with extra virgin olive oil in a large pot until onions are translucent.image

Step 2: Add ground beef and Italian sausage to mixture cook until meat is completely browned.image

Step 3: Combine meat mixture with crushed tomatoes, tomato paste and tomato sauce in a large crock pot. And cook- let simmer on high for 2+ hours.

Step 4: Add parmesan cheese to sauce, cook for an additional 30 minutes and  serve over noodles.

image

I didn’t get an after picture with the noodles and plate since it was gobbled up in minutes!

Remaining sauce can be frozen in freezer bags or jars for up to 5 months.

One thought on “Not My Mom’s Spaghetti Sauce

Leave a Reply

