A lesson on a dateless New Year’s Eve

This post was written in January 2014.- What I didn’t realize is that year; months after writing this post (and never posting it) I met my fiancé. We are getting married in November 2016 and I couldn’t be happier. I found this writing and realized that one thing is certain once you vow to have a positive attitude and look at things optimistically happiness does enter your life.

Once again this year, I found myself dateless with no one to kiss as the clock struck midnight. Usually it makes me a little sad and depressed; but this year I decided to make the best of my single situation and spent the evening with some of my best friends! Why should all the couples have all the fun. The party came together quickly, the only rule being… dress to impress. I donned my new Herve Leger dress, a very extravagant gift from a dear friend, as much bling as I could find, and the smokiest eyes I could create with my drug store make up! I wasn’t dressing up for anyone but myself. I wanted to make sure that I rang in 2014 the right way! As we took silly pictures of ourselves in cutout top hats, glasses and bow ties and posted pictures of the festivities on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. I got more feedback about how happy, and gorgeous I looked, and how much fun we were having than ever before. And I wasn’t with a guy, I was having fun. Being goofy and not caring who was going to judge me.

The night was so much fun, lots of champagne, lots of impromptu dancing and of course making lots of resolutions. What I love most about New Years is the clean slate of a new year beginning. Anything seems possible. I love working on resolutions. Last year, I resolved to be happier by living the life I wanted. Having fun with people that I love and care about and resolving to let go of people who don’t enhance my life. Not to mention the stereotypical weight loss, gym regiment resolutions that every female in American seems to seems to include in the annual tradition.

I haven’t made my final resolutions, but if the last day of 2013 was any indication of how 2014 is going to be I can’t wait. My dateless New Years Eve turned out to be one of the most amazing, fun and silly nights of my life. I know I will be resolving to have more nights like this in the next year.

“A New Year is on the way and the possibilities are endless”

Leave a Reply

