December 17, 2015 BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!

I need to start with the fact that my boyfriend is amazing at surprises and ridicules at going over the top with everything! He took me out for my birthday, only a week after we started dating and surprised me with dinner, a show, and five mini birthday cakes, because, since we had only been dating a week, he didn’t know what kind of cake I liked. When it came time for my boyfriend’s birthday, I of course had to pull out all the stops and threw him and about 50 of his friends a surprise, Halloween costume party. Going into my birthday this year, saying I was nervous was an understatement. I knew I was in for something over the top, but I could have never imaged what he had actually pulled together.

I woke up to breakfast in bed, my boyfriend even went in to work late so he could have birthday pancakes with me. He also gave me a card before he left that told me that he had planned a princess day for me, and my fairy godmother would be there to pick me up in a few hours. Then he left… went to work and stranded me at home since my car was in the shop. Later that morning my sister showed up to take me to the spa for a manicure and pedicure and a blowout. She had taken the day off of work to hang out with me and spend the day with me because my boyfriend wasn’t able to. The boyfriend and I had planned dinner that night, so I was very excited to have my hair and nails done by a professional. Now to figure out what to wear. However the surprises were not over, my boyfriend had planned for a mini shopping spree for Whitney and I to find the perfect outfit for tonight.  So off to the mall we went. Seriously, best boyfriend ever!

After a morning of being pampered and shopping I returned home to another card, letting me know my boyfriend would be home soon, and a brand new coach purse (that I had been eyeing, but would never buy myself). Okay. He got me big crazy over the top birthday, this year he went a little nuts but it wasn’t too bad. My boyfriend got home (late) and we hurriedly got ready for dinner downtown. When we walked into the restaurant the hostess handed me another card that told me he had invited a few more princesses to the party… I walked around the corner to the table and found both of our families there to celebrate. Okay, now I am really impressed. I relayed all the details of my day to our families and they praised my boyfriend on how great he was a surprises. After dinner, my “fairy godmother” handed me another card that told me there were still more surprises in store, no pumpkins or mice, but a horse drawn carriage ride through the city. WHAT- okay enough is enough, this is getting ridiculous. We road through the city and eventually stopped near the river to go for a short walk, admiring the Christmas lights along the path and pointing out the place where I first said ‘I love you.’

imageAt that my boyfriend got down on one knee and said all this sweet super personal and touching words and asked me to marry him. I think I blubbered/cried out the word Yes! Who wouldn’t with all of that lead up? Still in shock and with tears rolling down my cheeks, I looked up to see our family standing on the hill watching us. They all came running down the hill to congratulate us. Once the congratulations, hugs, tears and ohhs and ahhs over my beautiful engagement ring had ceased we headed back to the restaurant to warm up and have a celebratory cocktail. But my now fiancés surprises weren’t quite done, at the restaurant was a room full of friends and family members who came out to celebrate our brand new engagement. That night we got home and there was another card waiting for me, this one told me that if I hadn’t figured it out yet, I was the love of his life and how excited he was to build a life together. Seriously, the most magical night of my life. I can only image what my next birthday has instore, but if I know my fiancé, I think he is already scheming.

image

 

One thought on “December 17, 2015 BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!

Leave a Reply

