Chicken Stir-fry

Stir-fry is a super simple and easy meal and if you are at all budget conscience; it is relatively inexpensive. Healthy, cheap and quick in my opinion is a win-win-win! Start with going to the grocery store, grab whatever veggies you like. I went to Aldi, and bought carrots, broccoli, asparagus, peppers and onions (my total bill was $6.75). I purchased chicken breasts, teriyaki sauce, white rice and pre-chopped garlic from my local grocery store. (Seriously who has time to peel and press garlic?) All in the total costs was less than $25 and I ended up with enough ingredients for two meals one for tonight, and another to freeze for another quick meal on another night.

image

I started by cutting up everything, cleaning tip- chop your veggies first, then switch to the chicken. That way you don’t have to switch out cutting boards or clean and sanitize the boards. I tossed the vegetables (do not include the onion) together in a Tupperware container and put it in the fridge.

Next I cut one half of the onion and two chicken breasts and put it in a second Tupperware container with the teriyaki sauce, and some garlic and half of a chopped onion.  I mixed it up to make sure the chicken was fully covered in sauce and threw it back in the fridge.  I actually ended up with enough of all ingredients to make a second meal of this for the freezer. Vegetables in one freezer bag, chicken, onion and garlic in a second bag. If I had time I would have frozen teriyaki sauce in ice cube trays and added to my chicken bag but I didn’t think ahead- so I left it out. I can always add that later.

It took forever to cut everything, partly because I was on the phone with my mother talking and drinking wine while dancing around in my kitchen. But typically, I can whip this up in 20 minute and have meal prep done in no time!

 

Cooking instructions- from the fridge:

  1. Make rice- according to box instructions.
  2. Dump contents of chicken Tupperware into a fry pan. Sauté until chicken is cooked thoroughly.
  3. Add vegetables and cover. Cook for 7-10 minutes.

 

Cooking instructions- from the freezer:

  1. Dump contents of chicken mixture into fry pan, add teriyaki sauce and cover.
  2. Make rice- according to box instructions.
  3. Sauté chicken mixture until cooked thoroughly.
  4. Add vegetables, cook uncovered for 10-13 minutes.

 

Serve mixture over white rice and enjoy!

One thought on “Chicken Stir-fry

Leave a Reply

